Category Archives: Confusing Golf Rules

Golf Rules: Putting an Oscillating Ball

  If you’ve ever played in winds over 25 mph, winds like you could often see at The Open (or how we lads in the US refer to it, The British Open), you will have had the experience of standing over your ball preparing to putt and you see the ball “shake”. It doesn’t roll sinceContinue Reading

Golf Rules: Moving a Ball Mark on the Green Accidentally

As I was watching Billy Horschel play in a PGA tournament round, I noticed that when he marked his ball on the green he picked up his ball and quickly pressed down on his ball mark with the ball.  It made me think what would happen if the ball mark moved when he did this.Continue Reading

Golf Rules: Rain and Lightning

As I write this, the PGA tournament of the week is in a weather delay.   The delay is not because of rain, but because of lightning in the area.  This is all too common on the professional tours and the players are used to delays.   Although the handling of weather delays is notContinue Reading

Confusing Golf Rule #10: Anchored Putters and Long Putters

You may have read (and read and read) about the USGA – R&A decision to ban anchored putting effective in 2016.   Until then, Keegan Bradley & Webb Simpson & Adam Scott can continue to use their putters.  (By the way, give the long putter users a break.  They aren’t cheating.  They aren’t doing anythingContinue Reading

Confusing Golf Rule #9: Sprinkler Head Near the Green

This rule is pretty straight forward.  Say that you hit an approach shot just a few feet off the green.  As you approach your ball, you realize that your normal play (putting) would be a problem because you have a sprinkler head on your intended line of putt.  What does the rule book say?  TooContinue Reading