Category Archives: It Happened On The Tour

Golf Rules – When a Penalty Is Just the Beginning

At a recent European Tour event, Simon Dyson incurred a 2-stroke penalty after the round, and was subsequently disqualified from the tournament for signing an incorrect scorecard, when a television viewer brought a rules violation to the attention of tour officials.   You can watch the video here:    That’s bad news, but it doesn’tContinue Reading

Golf Rules: Tiger and the “Oscillating” Ball

Tiger Woods was in a rules dispute recently at the BMW Championship outside of Chicago.  Woods pushed his opening drive of the second round into the trees and the ball came to rest amidst fallen leaves and twigs.  In the process of moving some of the debris, his ball moved.  He said he saw itContinue Reading

Golf Rules: The Best Get it Wrong at the Solheim Cup

At the 2013 Solheim Cup tournament, a controversy ensued when two rules officials allowed for an incorrect drop.   What happened?  In the first afternoon match of the opening day, Carlotta Ciganda hit a drive into the lateral water hazard to the right of the 15th fairway.   If you recall, if a player hitsContinue Reading

Golf Rules: Slow Play Penalties

If you golf more frequently than once per decade, you have faced the situation where you and your playing partners are having to wait for the group ahead to move so you can play.  Since courses are not consistently all straight and short par 4’s, delays at a hole or two is common.  But whenContinue Reading

Golf Rules: (Updated) Why Tour Pros Should Have Multiple Caddies

Update August 10, 2013:  In the following post, we describe the opportunity for a golfer to use multiple caddies in a round, say a caddie for the greens and a caddie for everywhere else.  This is based on the rule that allows a golfer to change caddies mid-round, as long as he or she onlyContinue Reading